The Student News Site of New Castle Senior High School

Eye of the Hurricane

  • May 27Eye of the Hurricane FALL Edition Now Live!
The Student News Site of New Castle Senior High School

Eye of the Hurricane

The Student News Site of New Castle Senior High School

Eye of the Hurricane

Sorry, there are no polls available at the moment.

2024 Daytona 500 Entry List

2024 Daytona 500 Entry List

Built in 1959, Daytona Superspeedway has been the first race on the NASCAR schedule since 1982. The Daytona 500 is the first of 3 NASCAR races in 2024, with NASCAR returning to Daytona in August and racing at Homestead-Miami in October. The Daytona 500 is regarded as the most important and prestigious race on the NASCAR calendar, carrying by far the largest purse. This phenomenon is unique in sports, which tend to have championships or other major events at the end of the season rather than the start. The 1979 race was the first Daytona 500 to be broadcast live on national television, airing on CBS, whose audience was increased in much of the Eastern and Midwestern USA due to a blizzard going on at that time. The qualifying procedure is unique for the Daytona 500. Some teams must race their way into the Daytona 500 field. The first row is set by a timed round of qualifying. Prior to 2021, the session was held one week before the race (prior to 2003, this was two rounds; prior to 2001, it was three) but the session is now held on the Wednesday evening leading up to the race. The remainder of the field is set on the Thursday before the race by two separate qualifying races (known commonly as the duels). Chartered cars are locked into the race (36 total). Any open entry (or non chartered car) must race their way into the Daytona 500 (1 per duel) or qualify on speed (2 total). There are 2 open spots in each duel. A total of 42 drivers have won the event. Trevor Bayne was the youngest to win the event (2011; age: 20 years, 1 day) and Bobby Allison was the oldest to win the event (1988; age: 50 years, 73 days). Ricky Stenhouse Jr. won last year’s edition. Mario Andretti was born in a part of Italy that is now in Croatia, but became a naturalized American citizen. He remains the only foreign-born driver to win the race.

Chartered Cars:

The charter system is NASCAR’s way of “buying a franchise.” There are 36 total charters and a charter grants entry to every race in the season without relying on qualifying speed.

Key: R – Rookie; W – Prior Daytona 500 winner; i – Ineligible for series points.

Chevrolet – 14 cars

Hendrick Motorsports (4) – Kyle Larson (No. 5), Chase Elliott (No. 9), William Byron (No. 24), and Alex Bowman (No. 48)

Trackhouse Racing (2) – Ross Chastain (No. 1) and Daniel Suarez (No. 99)

Richard Childress Racing (2) – Austin Dillon (W) (No. 3) and Kyle Busch (No. 8)

Kaulig Racing (2) – AJ Allmendinger (No. 16) and Daniel Hemric (No. 31)

Spire Motorsports (3) – Corey LaJoie (No. 7), Zane Smith (R) (No. 71), and Carson Hocevar (R) (No. 77)

JTG Daugherty Racing (1) – Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (W) (No. 47)

Ford – 14 cars

Stewart-Haas Racing (4) – Josh Berry (R) (No. 4), Noah Gragson (No. 10), Chase Briscoe (No. 14), and Ryan Preece (No. 41).

Team Penske (3) – Austin Cindric (W) (No. 2), Ryan Blaney (No. 12), and Joey Logano (W) (No. 22).

RFK Racing (2) – Brad Keselowski (No. 6) and Chris Buescher (No. 17)

Rick Ware Racing (2) –Riley Herbst (No. 15) and Justin Haley (No. 51)

Front Row Motorsports (2) – Michael McDowell (W) (No. 34) and Todd Gilliland (No. 38)

Wood Brothers (1) – Harrison Burton (No. 21)

Toyota – 8 cars

Joe Gibbs Racing (4) – Denny Hamlin (W) (No. 11), Martin Truex Jr. (No. 19), Christopher Bell (No. 20), and Ty Gibbs (No. 54)

23XI Racing (2) – Bubba Wallace (No. 23) and Tyler Reddick (No. 45)

LEGACY Motor Club (2) – John Hunter Nemechek (No. 42) and Erik Jones (No. 43)

Open Cars – 5 cars

An open car is a car that has been entered into the Daytona 500 and must race its way into the Daytona 500. 2 cars are set on qualifying speed and the other 2 are set on the best finish in duel 1 and duel 2.

Front Row Motorsports (1) – Kaz Grala (No. 36)

Beard Motorsports (1) – Anthony Alfredo (i) (No. 62)

LEGACY Motor Club (1) – Jimmie Johnson (W) (No. 84)

RFK Racing (1) – David Ragan (No. 60)

Live Fast Motorsports (1) – BJ McLeod (No. 78)

2024 Daytona Speedweeks schedule

(All times EST.; Schedule is tentative and subject to change)

Tuesday, February 13

2 p.m – Random draw for Xfinity Series qualifying lineup

4 p.m. – Random draw for Cup Series qualifying lineup

Wednesday, February 14

8 a.m. – 4 p.m. – Daytona 500 Media Day

8:15 p.m. – NASCAR Cup Series single-car qualifying (one lap, two rounds)

Thursday, February 15

4:05 – 4:55 p.m. – ARCA Menards Series practice

5:05 – 5:55 p.m. – NASCAR Truck Series practice

7 p.m. – NASCAR Cup Series Qualifying Race #1 (60 laps)

8:45 p.m. – NASCAR Cup Series Qualifying Race #2 (60 laps)

Friday, February 16

1:30 p.m. – ARCA Menards Series qualifying

3 p.m. – NASCAR Truck Series qualifying

4:35 p.m. – 5:25 p.m. – NASCAR Xfinity Series practice

5:35 – 6:25 p.m. – NASCAR Cup Series practice

7:30 p.m. – NASCAR Truck Series race (100 laps; 250 miles)

Saturday, February 17

10:30 – 11:20 a.m. – NASCAR Cup Series final practice

11:30 a.m. – NASCAR Xfinity Series qualifying

1:30 p.m. – ARCA Menards Series race (80 laps; 200 miles)

5 p.m. – NASCAR Xfinity Series race (120 laps; 300 miles)

Sunday, February 18

2:30 p.m. – NASCAR Cup Series Daytona 500 (200 laps; 500 miles)

Leave a Comment
More to Discover
About the Contributor
Justin Byers, Junior Writer

Comments (0)

All Eye of the Hurricane Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *